The List of Winners of The 49th Kerala State Film Awards

The results for the 49th Kerala State Film Awards are in and they were announced on Wednesday by cultural affairs minister AK Balan, with the jury for the awards committee headed by screenwriter-director Kumar Shahani. Among those who made it to the top of the list were actors Jayasurya and Soubin Shahir and actress Nimisha Sajayan, and from the movie list, Kanthan: The Lover of Color got the top award.
Jayasurya, who bagged the best actor award, received accolades for his bold performance in the movie Njan Marykutty. The movie was about a transgender man who struggled with sexual orientation while dealing with its social stigma and taboo.
Check out the whole list of winners below:

Best Film – Kanthan: The Lover of Color
Best Actor – Jayasurya (Captain and Njan Marykutty) and Soubin Shahir (Sudani from Nigeria)
Best Actress – Nimisha Sajayan, Chola and Oru Kuprasidha Payyan
Best Director – Shyamaprasad, Oru Njayarazhcha
Best Character Actor – Joju George, Chola and Joseph
Best Character Actress – Savithra Sreedharan and Sarasa Balussery, Sudani from Nigeria
Second Best Film – Oru Njayarazhcha
Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value – Sudani from Nigeria
Best Debut Director – Zakariya Mohammed, Sudani from Nigeria
Best Child Artist – Male – Master Rithun, Appuvinte Sathyanweshanam
Best Child Artist – Female – Abani Adi, Panth
Best Story – Joy Mathew, Uncle
Best Male Singer – Vijay Yesudas, Poomuthole from Joseph
Best Female Singer – Shreya Ghoshal, Neer Maathalam from Aami
Best Music Director – Vishal Bharadwaj, Carbon
Best Music Director (score) – Bijibal, Aami
Best Lyrics – Hari Narayanan, Joseph and Theevandi

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top
error: Content is protected !!